Winners of state editors’ award revealed

April 15, 2017 by  

The winners of the 2016 Illinois Associated Press Media Editors, or APME, have recently been announced, and will be rewarded at an upcoming convention.

Almost 1,000 entries were submitted by 38 daily newspapers throughout Illinois in areas such as photography, editorials, sports stories, columns, and news stories. These entries were judged by the staff and editors of newspapers in Oklahoma, North Carolina, Arkansas, Indiana, and Colorado.

A few of the victorious newspapers included the Effingham Daily News and The Rockford Register Star, which covers news throughout areas like Rockford and Loves Park, Illinois.

Awards such as the News Innovator of the Year award and the General Excellence award will be presented to the winners of the contest at the 2017 Illinois Press Association Convention on June 8. The convention will be taking place at the Crowne Plaza Hotel and Conference Center at 3000 South Dirksen Parkway in Springfield, Illinois from June 7 to June 9. For more information regarding the convention, or to view the flyers for the event, visit the Illinois Press Association website. Dates, times, and other important information will be added to the website as the date of the convention draws closer.

To see the full list of the newspapers that won the Illinois APME contest across the three divisions, visit the McClatchy DC Bureau website.